Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) training & certification requirements vary considerably across the U.S. In some states, the requirements go beyond the federal minimum while in other states requirements are nearly identical to the federal standards.
This page displays Nebraska CNA Requirements as of February 2023.
To see requirements in other states, visit nursinghome411.org/cna-reqs.
Nebraska CNA Requirements
- Eligibility/Screening Requirements
- Is at least sixteen years of age and has not been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude;
- Is able to speak and understand the English language or a language understood by a substantial portion of the facility residents;
- That individual is competent to provide nursing and nursing-related services;
- The nurse aide has not:
- Been found guilty of abusing, neglecting, or mistreating residents by a court of law; or
- Had a finding entered into the State nurse aide registry concerning abuse, neglect, or mistreatment of residents or misappropriation of their property under the provisions of this chapter.
- Education & Training Requirement
- Individuals must complete a state approved nurse aide training and competency evaluation program.
- Testing Requirement
- Individuals must pass both a written and skills test.
- An individual has a total of three opportunities to pass each exam.
- If an individual does not pass the exam after three tries, he/she must retake the 75-hour nurse aide course.
- Renewal & In-Service Requirements
- Same as federal.
- 75 clock hours of instruction, including at least 16 hours of supervised practical training. In addition, the course must include at least 1 hour of instruction on the responsibility of each nurse aide to report suspected abuse or neglect at a minimum.
- Same as federal.
- Nebraska DHHS Nurse Aide Licensure
- Rev. Stat. Ann. § 71-6039
- 471 Neb. Admin. R. & Regs. Ch. 12, § 013