Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) training & certification requirements vary considerably across the U.S. In some states, the requirements go beyond the federal minimum while in other states requirements are nearly identical to the federal standards.

This page displays North Dakota CNA Requirements as of February 2023.

To see requirements in other states, visit nursinghome411.org/cna-reqs.

North Dakota CNA Requirements

  • Eligibility/Screening Requirements
    • Those applicants with a history including conviction of a crime substantially related to the qualification, functions, or duties of a certified nurse aide, home health aide, nurse aide, or medication assistant or a finding on a state nurse aide registry or federal registry should be informed they might not be allowed to begin the training program or take the test without providing specific information relating to their background, criminal history, or impairment.
  • Education & Training Requirement
    • Individuals must complete a state approved nurse aide training and competency evaluation program.
  • Testing Requirement
    • Individuals must pass both a written and skills test.
  • Renewal & In-Service Requirements
    • In-service requirements are the same as federal.
    • Renewal requires 8 hours of nursing or nursing-related duties every 24 months.
  • Hours
    • Minimum of seventy-five hours.
  • Curriculum
    • Same as federal.