Certified Nurse Aide (CNA) training & certification requirements vary considerably across the U.S. In some states, the requirements go beyond the federal minimum while in other states requirements are nearly identical to the federal standards.

This page displays Idaho CNA Requirements as of February 2023.

To see requirements in other states, visit nursinghome411.org/cna-reqs.

Idaho CNA Requirements

  • Education & Training Requirement
    • Individuals must complete a state approved nurse aide training and competency evaluation program.
  • Testing Requirement
    • Individuals must pass both a written and skills test within one year of training.
  • Renewal & In-Service Requirements
    • In-services requirements are same as federal.
    • Must work at least 8 hours as a paid CNA in the past 2 years.
  • Hours
    • 120 hours. This includes 80 hours of classroom instruction and 40 hours of clinical instruction.
  • Curriculum
    • Within the identified hours of training, at least sixteen (16) hours of classroom instruction shall be provided prior to direct involvement with a facility resident, and shall include the following topics:
      • Communication and interpersonal skills, infection control, safety/emergency procedures, promoting residents’ independence, and respecting residents’ rights.
    • Curriculum must include content and clinical practice in basic nursing skills, personal care skills, mental health and social service needs, basic restorative services, and residents’ rights.
    • Course Content
      • (1) Related anatomy, physiology, and pathology;
      • (2) Clinical signs, symptoms, and complications;
      • (3) Measures for prevention and intervention;
      • (4) Precautions and related hazards;
      • (5) Emergency measures; and
      • (6) Documentation.
    • Additional Training. Unless the individual has completed course work in the following areas, the following topics must be addressed in the context of the training:
      • (1) Communication and interpersonal skills;
      • (2) Infection control;
      • (3) Universal standards; and
      • (4) Safety procedures.